Popular Regions:


Derwent Valley

Population Counter:

Derwent Valley is located in Tasmania and considered as a statistical area level 2 (SA2). The 2019 population estimate for Derwent Valley is stated above. The population of Derwent Valley is collected during censuses, every five years. In the last census in 2016, Derwent Valley had a population of 3,098 persons. The live population is calculated using growth rate between 2011 and 2016 and national adjustments after 2016.


Derwent Valley has an area of 1,290 square kilometres (km2), which provides a population density of 2 persons in each square kilometre. Below map presents the area and borders of Derwent Valley.

map of Derwent Valley


Derwent Valley is neighbour with 8 suburbs of Bridgewater - Gagebrook, Berriedale - Chigwell, New Norfolk, Mount Wellington, Central Highlands, Southern Midlands, Wilderness - East, and Huonville - Franklin. The table below shows the population in 2016. Click on the suburbs to see the live population.

Region Area (km2) Population
Mount Wellington 90.2 0
Wilderness - East 7,351.1 16
Central Highlands 7,185.5 2,056
Berriedale - Chigwell 34.0 5,520
Southern Midlands 2,600.3 6,058
New Norfolk 63.3 6,602
Bridgewater - Gagebrook 55.7 7,287
Huonville - Franklin 682.0 8,310